Saltar al contenido

What is and what does IELTS evaluate?

IELTS is a test that certifies your knowledge of the English language and is recognized worldwide.

IELTS is currently recognized worldwide by universities, business and government organizations as evidence of the English language proficiency of its candidates.

Some of the advantages that account are the following:

  • It has worldwide recognition
  • The training is very useful since it assesses your knowledge of the English language.
  • Evaluate spelling and grammar for both British and American English.

It has three types of exams:

  •  IELTS
    • Academic
    • General Training
    • Academic
    • General Training
  • IELTS Life Skills
    • A1
    • B1

The test is divided into 4 parts:

  1. Auditive comprehension: It consists of listening to some recordings in English and after this answer some questions about what you have heard.
  2. Reading comprehension: You should read some articles in English and then answer some questions related to those topics.
  3. Written expression: You will have to write an article about an image, diagram or graph that they present to you.
  4. Oral expression: You will have to speak first about yourself, then talk about a particular topic that you are told and finally discuss about that same topic.

To take the exam it takes approximately two and a half hours of time and the sequence of the exam is as follows: listening, reading, writing, speaking.

It is recommended to have at least a medium knowledge of the English language when presenting the test.